Posts: 1,199
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
0
09-16-2009, 03:15 PM
This enables you to manipulate QTP shared object repositories and their contents from outside of QTP. You need to just create an instance of the object and manipulate Repository with methods available. that means it allows you to edit properties of objects in the OR, add new objects, Copy, export.. etc using different methods.
Let me know if you need more help on this.
Posts: 1,199
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
0
09-17-2009, 10:50 AM
Hi Azzem, If you are using ObjectRepositoryUtil object and Loading a particular OR files,, that does not mean that you have that OR loaded with the script, so your statements will not work.
As I have mentioned in earlier post this can be used to manipulate your OR. In case you want to dynamically load your repository that you may use QTP AOM or RepositoryCollection.Add method
Posts: 1,003
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
5
09-17-2009, 02:27 PM
Azeem -
How are you scripting ? Is your code in QTP editor ?
As saket has already mentioned and per the QTP help, if you are using the ObjectRepositoriesUtil object then you are creating a mercury reference which is externally exploiting QTP AOM.
Approach it this way,
1.Write a Vbscript to open qtp, load repository, make it visible and then open the test.
You will know that the object reference will then be set.
Also, Please refer to QTP help for a exhaustive source of information.
Basanth
Give a fish to a man and you feed him for a day..Teach a man how to fish and you feed him for life.
Posts: 1,003
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
5
09-17-2009, 04:37 PM
(This post was last modified: 09-17-2009, 04:38 PM by basanth27.)
One of our ancestors wisely said "Spoon - Feeding exists even among adults".
It clearly indicates that you have not spent even a single moment to go through the help or my statement to understand what exactly you want to achieve.
I will write and post the code in my free time. If you have enough time you can keep refreshing the post and maybe you will get it..
Morever..I am not amused by your usage of emoticons !!! It does not reflect your seriousness in the question.
Basanth
Give a fish to a man and you feed him for a day..Teach a man how to fish and you feed him for life.
Posts: 1,199
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
0
09-17-2009, 06:20 PM
Hey Azeem,
As I already mentioned in the earlier posts, The object can not be used for loading a repository into an Action neither to run yur script.
This can only be used for manipulating the OR. If you need any help on manipulating the OR please specify exactly waht do you want to manipulate, we will definitely try to help you.
Posts: 1,199
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
0
09-18-2009, 03:23 PM
Hi Azzem,
Great man, I was not aware of this.
It is possible for you to explain the work around you have used.
I would really like to see, How can we use the ObjectRepositoryUtils object to run our script.