Visible attribute - Printable Version +- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums) +-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP) +--- Forum: UFT / QTP Beginners (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Beginners) +--- Thread: Visible attribute (/Thread-Visible-attribute) |
Visible attribute - mv8167 - 01-04-2012 Can someone tell me which is the better statement? Code: If Browser("Wisdom").Page("Wisdom IA").Frame("parent").Link("name:="& ReportName, "Visible:=True", "abs_x:="& absX, "abs_y:="& absY).Exist(0) Then or should I use: Code: If Browser("Wisdom").Page("Wisdom IA").Frame("parent").Link("name:="& ReportName, "Visible:=True", "abs_x:="& absX, "abs_y:="& absY).GetROProperty("visible") Then and what the +/- for each statements? Not sure how to better proceed. thx RE: Visible attribute - vIns - 01-05-2012 the below statement might thro tun time error if the object is not found in the application...(lets say position of the link is changed) Code: "If Browser("Wisdom").Page("Wisdom IA").Frame("parent").Link("name:="& ReportName, "Visible:=True", "abs_x:="& absX, "abs_y:="& absY).GetROProperty("visible") Then" so..check if the obj is present before doing anything.. Code: "If Browser("Wisdom").Page("Wisdom IA").Frame("parent").Link("name:="& ReportName, "Visible:=True", "abs_x:="& absX, "abs_y:="& absY).Exist(0) Then" even if it seems to be an extra check, i feel it s a good practice.. once this is true...then you can do ur validation... RE: Visible attribute - mv8167 - 01-05-2012 Thx vIns! So the GetROProperty could cause a run time error if the object is not found. Thx! I am using the code "If Browser("Wisdom").Page("Wisdom IA").Frame("parent").Link("name:="& ReportName, "Visible:=True", "abs_x:="& absX, "abs_y:="& absY).Exist(0) Then" but durring my research I noticed people using the GetROProperty and wasnt sure of why. thx again RE: Visible attribute - vIns - 01-06-2012 Hi Lorena, I think i have confused u... What i tried to say is, it s better to use Exist method on top of GetROProperty to avoid runtime error. Because u use coordinates which i will not use. I feel there is a chance for 'object not found' error. Exist -- it will just say if the object is present or not. even if the object is present, any of the property might not be as u expected. so in that case, u need to use GetROProperty to verify the property values. Say, There is a textbox. Lets assume it's logical name is 'Text' WebEdit("Text").Exist --> will say it is true (or false it is not thr) But that box might be disabled. U might want to check if it is editable or not..in that case u need to use GetRoProperty to check if it is editable or not. Exist method can not be used. Hope it helps...if not, let me know with ur qn.. RE: Visible attribute - mv8167 - 01-06-2012 vIns, Thx for respondoing. The reason I am using the abs_x and abs_y is because there is more than one link with the same name. If I do not use the abs coordinates I get run time errors. How can I "use Exist method on top of GetROProperty"? I can only use one (Exist) or the other (GetROProperty). I think i finally see the difference in the two functions with your reply. Thx again fgor taking the time to respond. ;-) Have a great weekend. RE: Visible attribute - srikanthqtp - 01-06-2012 Hi Lorena, If you are having more num of links with the same name, you can go for index property. I think tht will be better instead of coordinates. Hope that will solve your problem, if you need more clarification please welcome |