![]() |
GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - Printable Version +- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums) +-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP) +--- Forum: VB Scripting/Descriptive Programming (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-VB-Scripting-Descriptive-Programming) +--- Thread: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan (/Thread-GetRowWithCellText-does-not-work-if-the-header-has-a-colspan) |
GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - ConstantChange - 05-02-2008 Hi all! Actually I think I just post this to get rid of/share some more negative feelings about certain functions. The method GetRowWithCellText (WebTable object) does not work if the header of the table does not match the "actual" columns of the table. By that I mean that the <th.. has a colspan of two, and each of the following lines contains 2 <td>. When using GetRowWithCellText on such a table, it will only be able to find things in the first line (effectively the TH). Again I will have to write my own methods, but if somebody else would like to add a solution or rant a bit along side me - please do so! Cheers! CC RE: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - Anshoo Arora - 05-09-2008 Do you want to capture a value from a given row? or a cell? RE: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - ConstantChange - 05-09-2008 Hi! In advance: This is solved, I created my own function and that actually works.. But @Anshoo: No, this function is supposed to return a row number for a given text, so if there is a table and somehwhere in line 3 the word "test" occurs, normaly the this call GetRowWithCellText("text") should return 3. But that does not always work. Thanks anyway though! ![]() In case somebody wants to use my function, here it is. Its not very elegant, but I came to the conclusion that VBScript (or lets say the DotNet Object Model) does not want us to be elegant... Code: Function getTableRowWithText(table, textToFind, exact, uncountHeader) RE: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - ConstantChange - 05-09-2008 hm, sorry, somehow the tabs got lost.... RE: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - Ankur - 05-09-2008 nice of you ConstantChange for posting your solution to help others... if everyone shows the same spirit, this can indeed become a better place for QTP beginners and experts alike. btw, you can use the "Preview Post" button (below) to preview your posts for any formatting errors etc. RE: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - Anshoo Arora - 05-10-2008 ConstantChange, you can also try this (a little simple and configurable): Code: Public Function getTargetRow(sText) RE: GetRowWithCellText does not work if the header has a colspan - Mahmoud.Karam - 05-08-2012 Thanks "ConstantChange" for posting this thread and for your proposed solution. And thanks "Anshoo Arora" for your proposed solution, I tried it but it suffered also from the same problem that the "colTotal" always reads the first row columns. and the line "sData = ColInfoTable.GetCellData(rowStart,colStart)" needed small correction to be "sData = oTable.GetCellData(rowStart,colStart)". I've made small modifications to your function correcting the errors and adding 2 new parameters; the table as an input object and the table columns to make it more generic. Code: Public function getTargetRow(oTable, sText, colTotal) To call this function: Code: Set myTableObject = Browser("myBrowser").Page(myPage").WebTable("myTable") |