![]() |
Functions - Printable Version +- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums) +-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP) +--- Forum: UFT / QTP Beginners (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-UFT-QTP-Beginners) +--- Thread: Functions (/Thread-Functions) |
Functions - mv8167 - 04-27-2011 I am trying to create functions to perform tasks like Login, Logout, URL Selection, etc. But I cannot seem to find help anywhere. either I am not searching correctly, or QTP cannot do Functions (I highly doubdt) This is what I have: Code: 'CTE Testing Do I need to "Call" a function? Where are Functions suppose to live? (I have them in my Test dir) Do I need code to tell where these Functions live? Is there any material around on how to perform Functions? MUST all of my Functions be in one file? At present, I have each Fjnction going to its own QTP file. If so, and I think it is, how do I assoc 10-20 functions in one file to the test scripts I plan to build. I do not want to have every script to have its own login, close all logout text that I must update. I want one login, one close all and one logout script. Depending on which scripts I want to run at night, I was hoping to comment or uncomment a script in my Main script above to determine which scripts would execute. Anyone have a good way to handle this? ;-) thx RE: Functions - Saket - 04-27-2011 you can have your functions in a library file. and call the functions in your scripts after adding them to the test as resource. there is no restriction to keep your file at some particular location, you can place them as per your framework structure. does that answer to question? RE: Functions - vIns - 04-27-2011 >> You need not use 'Call' for Function. >> If you are planning to use relative path, QTP searches for the file in the current test directory. Then it will check in in the folders listed in the Tools->Options->Folders RE: Functions - UFTEnthusiast - 04-27-2011 Generally all resuable functions will kept in .VBS or .QFL Function library and Attach you Function library files to your test and Call those functions. Eg: This is what I have: Code: 'CTE Testing RE: Functions - mv8167 - 04-27-2011 Thx everyone for putting up with me. My code is such: Code: 'CTE Testing I went to Tools-> Options -> Folders and my Libary is in the topl level folder. I went to File -> Settings -> Resources and the Associated function libaries is set to LibaryCTE.qfl (Resources -> AssocFuncLib - shows the same) On Run, I get: The test run cannot continue due to a syntax error. Syntax error Line (3): Code: "Call Function CloseAllOpenWindows ()". My Function Libary has: Code: Public Function CloseAllOpenWindows () RE: Functions - vIns - 04-28-2011 To call the Function CloseAllOpenWindows, just use CloseAllOpenWindows |