Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - Printable Version +- Micro Focus QTP (UFT) Forums (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums) +-- Forum: Micro Focus UFT (earlier known as QTP) (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-Micro-Focus-UFT-earlier-known-as-QTP) +--- Forum: VB Scripting/Descriptive Programming (https://www.learnqtp.com/forums/Forum-VB-Scripting-Descriptive-Programming) +--- Thread: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ (/Thread-Getting-Row-Column-data-from-MS-Word-document-QTP) |
Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - shriqtp - 08-04-2009 Hi, I have a input test data in MS-Word document as Row/Column format. I would like to fetch that data from Script, store it in veriable and want to use it in Test. Script: Code: Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application") ' i can get the parameter count by Code: para_count = word_doc.Paragraphs.count Query: But how do i get the Row and Column data separately (like for Excel sheet, we can easily fetch that by "ColumnName" & 'SheetID') --> Can it be possible to fetch Row/Column data for MS-Word document like Excel document? --> Please guide and if possible pls give the code. Thanks in advance Shrinivas RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - Saket - 08-04-2009 Yes, this is possible to get data from table in Word doc. Try this Code: objWord.Selection.Tables(1).Cell(1,1).Select here 1 in Tables(1) depends on number of table in the word an from which you want to fetch data Cell(1,1) - can vary on row and column you want. Hope this will help you. RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - shriqtp - 08-05-2009 Hi Saket, gr8, thanks for your help, its really good. Only one small query: If i want to count number of Row available in Table(1), Column 2 i.e Cell(1,2). Can i use GetRowCount() method to get that, like i tried following: Code: m_total = objWord.Selection.Tables(1).Cell(1,2).GetRowCount() But its not working. Do we have any other method to get no. of rows present in Column 2. Thanks Shrinivas RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - Saket - 08-05-2009 You can not use GetRowcount which is a QTP native method and will not work with word table. Code: objWord.Selection.Tables(1).Rows.Count RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - shriqtp - 08-05-2009 Hi, And with the code: Code: objWord.Selection.Tables(1).Cell(1,2).Select The message box is showing Extra Square, below actual value. Please check the attachment for ex. Can it be possible to remove that extra Square. Also tried following code: Code: m_total = objWord.Selection.Tables(1).range And with that for each value from both columns showing extra Square (as shown in attachment) below the value. Can it be possible to remove that extra square? and if so how... Please guide. Thanks Shrinivas RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - Saket - 08-05-2009 I think that is carriage return characters and this occurs due to the whole cell is selected. You can use 'Replace' Function to remove them. RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - shriqtp - 08-05-2009 Nope 'Replace' function not working. Because small square is not existing as separate value. Do it have any concerns with Word document settings. Also tried with Autofit options but no use. Thanks Shrinivas RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - Saket - 08-05-2009 How did you used the Replace function? try replacing with Chr(13) or Chr(7) or both This should work. Let me know if any issue RE: Getting Row & Column data from MS-Word document QTP+ - shriqtp - 08-05-2009 Did a small mistake while using Replace. But now it is working absolutely fine. Thanks a lot....Saket Have a nice day Bye |