Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
03-01-2012, 10:55 AM
Hi All
Part of my application, requires a user to input a lot of parameters to create a process and each process is to be created with different set of data. I tried to parametrize the application by inserting the data in the data table. But to input/change data every time into the data table to create a process is time consuming. Can someone please suggest if there is an alternative way to do this.
Thanks in advance.
Posts: 60
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation:
0
03-01-2012, 11:41 PM
not clear with req, if you need dynamic data at each run means, use random number or build random string string or whatever data type need.
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
03-02-2012, 12:27 AM
If it is specific type of data that the application accepts then you cannot escape entering data into data table or excel.If else you can randomize or concatenate
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
03-02-2012, 01:34 AM
Thanks for the suggestions.
The page of my application which needs data to be inputted, has a combination of weblists (it also has weblist inside a weblist), web radio group, webcheckboxes, webedits etc. To create a process, I need to select data from each of these weblists, web radio groups, webcheckboxes and I cannot skip any of these to create a process. Each time, I create a new process, I have to input/change new data into the datatable.
Thanks in advance.
Posts: 60
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation:
0
03-02-2012, 10:33 AM
Create test data file(excel) once at script design stage for all possible combination to create a process and use it at run time.
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
03-02-2012, 10:46 AM
Thanks for the reply.
But is it advisable to create an excel file if we have very large sets of data because each web list in my application have 7-8 items and some of the web lists have same items in them. I have to select an element/item from a weblist, webcheckbox, webradio group etc to create a process.
Thanks in advance.
Posts: 426
Threads: 4
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation:
0
03-02-2012, 02:28 PM
Hi,
Yes, U can come up with heavy data for excel. Use all permutation & combination to get different data that ur application needs.
Regards,
Sankalp
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
0
03-09-2012, 09:28 AM
Thanks everyone for your replies.
Creating combinations of data did not work in my case, so I had to opt for the data table method for entering data.